Unperfectness

February 26, 2008

I have a recurring temporary job. The company that I am employed with has occasional work available that I can do out of my home, and this week I’ve been asked to be a part of another three week project. While I attended training and a meeting, I wished I had a translator. Someone who could translate from business-ese to Michelle-ese. It’s not that I didn’t understand the words coming out of these brilliant entrepreneur’s mouths, it’s just that I don’t have one business-y bone in my body. If my very life depended on it, I don’t know that I’d be able to sell someone a $1o bill for a quarter.

But, that’s OK. The perfectionistic part of me wants to be good at everything, but lately I’ve been trying to fight that part of me. Perfectionism is a belief that anything less than perfect is unacceptable, and ironically, perfectionism is a major personality flaw. Perfectionism has never helped me achieve perfection, just neuroticism.

So, one of my tactics against perfectionism is to celebrate “unperfectness”. Weaknesses and quirks are some of the things that make life interesting. For example, since I was talking about business, I thought I’d share pictures I took of two businesses in my community that crack me up whenever I see them:

I have yet to have the courage to actually go into “Bell Electronics and Krazy Daves Knives”. I imagine a guy like Herman from “The Simpsons” would be standing behind the counter (if there is a counter in there.)

If I ever do work up the courage to go in there, though, I’ll be sure to bring my camera (and maybe some mace) and you guys will be the first to hear about what’s inside.

The other one is located in downtown Provo. There used to be a furniture store there called “Provo Furniture”. It was in business there for many years, and not too long ago, there was a big sign on it announcing a sale in lieu of the owner’s retirement. The sale passed, the owner retired, and “Provo Furniture” was passed on to a new owner.

The next time I saw “Provo Furniture”, it was having it’s grand re-opening under it’s new clever name:

Yes, frugality can go too far. Yet, whenever I pass “Pro Furniture”, it warms my soul.

6 Responses to “Unperfectness”

  1. Cristy said

    Ah! That is hilarious! I love that Pro Furniture sign. I will have to drive by it so I can get a hearty laugh from time to time. Yea for a Meisha post! Yours are always some of my favorites! Hope the job is going well. Don’t let it get you too stressed. I find the more and more kids I have (Ok just 2) the less and less I want to take on the occasional projects and jobs that come along cause they just stress me out. I always attempt to do them so I can still use my “talents” and still be “Cristy” but sometimes I find it’s just better to let some stuff go for a while. Whatever. Keep smiling!

  2. Hillary said

    Too funny! I love the Pro Furniture store.

  3. Summer said

    As Ethan would say, “Holy Camoly!!”
    You’re back again. Yay!!
    You really are a great blogger.
    I can’t believe they got rid of the VO in the sign. That’s so lame.

  4. mckenna said

    Yay I’m so glad you’re back too. And I’m loving the Pro Furniture. I haven’t been out to Provo for a WHILE so I haven’t noticed. Funny!

  5. Wendy said

    pro furniture. that is a little too much. it makes me miss provo. maybe we should just move back!

  6. loni said

    Aww, I miss krazy Dave’s. That sign, building, landscape and oversized satellite combo always cracked me up! Seriously, there’s nothing better than sitting back and enjoying people’s quirkiness. It reminds me of Jim on the office and how he just relishes every moment of quirkiness.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

