Touch of Nature

October 20, 2009

One of my favorite things about our home here is it’s little garden courtyard. It’s an outdoor space open above to the sky, yet enclosed on four sides, adjoining the dining room and a bedroom.

atrium1

When we first moved in it had a broken slate covered fountain, a couple sad-looking potted plants and lots of rocks.

atrium2

Adgie had a lot of fun helping me move rocks, fix the fountain and plant lots of tropical greenery.

atrium3

atrium4

Almost done, and it looks much better!

While Adgie and I were planting our little garden, we discovered some critters that had made their home there. I suspect that they originally came from a local plant nursery, hiding on past owner’s plant purchases. By their population size, they seem to be thriving in the almost predator-free safety of our courtyard.

To see them, though, you need to look closer.

Much closer.

atrium6

Now can you see them?

atrium7frogs

They’re called Greenhouse Frogs, and at least twenty of these teeny tiny frogs live in our little “jungle”. Adgie and I think they’re adorable, but we also love them because they keep the insects in our garden at bay, and during the rainy season, the evening air is filled will their soft calls.

atrium5

Adgie and I like to sit together looking through the glass, try and find them and watch them jump about. I wonder if they realize that they live in the froggy equivalent of “The Truman Show”?

atrium8

“One touch of nature makes the whole world kin.”  ~William Shakespeare

5 Responses to “Touch of Nature”

  1. Crystal said

    What the?! Michelle has a blog! Awesome. How are you? Missed nodding to you as our respective children drug us down the hall on Sunday :)

  2. loni said

    *Frowning* Great plug, but I still can’t come. Sooooo cool though.

  3. Rissa said

    I had no idea you had a blog!! Or maybe I did and just forgot. That happens alot!! :D I love you apartment!! It looks huge!! I wish we had had such a place for a years in school. I think it would have made it more enjoyable. :D I miss you too!!! (and everyone else of course!) The garden is awesome. Miguel would love that!!

  4. Summer said

    You failed to mention this incredible aspect of your apartment. *yearning to visit grows*

  5. Karen said

    Wow, that looks awesome! I love your pictures – the last one w/Adgie’s hand is awesome. I can’t wait to be able to come visit you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

