Gloomy Days

January 22, 2008

As you probably already noticed, I’ve neglected the bloggety blog as of late. You could say that I have been on a blog writing strike, you know, to be in solidarity with the WGA. (All I wanted was 2 cents to every dollar that WordPress makes off my “lucrative” blog, is that so unreasonable?)

However, though I support the WGA’s cause, if you were to say that that was the purpose behind my recent sabbatical, it wouldn’t be true. As much as I’d like to say that I haven’t been posting because I’ve been busy with some worthwhile cause, the truth is that I just haven’t been in the mood to write.

Depression has been known to creep up on me from time to time, and when the darkness follows the bright lights of Christmas, the contrast magnifies the melancholy.

I bet you didn’t know, though, that depression can be a funny thing.

On one January morning the world feels like this-

And then the very next day, you could wake up and the world feels like this-

See! Hilarious! Depression pulled the ole switcheroo! Ha!

I dealt with low self-esteem, distorted body image, feelings of worthlessness, the suicide of someone I cared for, and other teenage melodrama-ness in high school. These negative thought patterns were directly connected to my teenage episodes of depression. I was making myself sick by believing the damaging propaganda fed to me by my own guilt, magazines, peers, my parents expectations, movies, and my own hormone-fueled mind. When I finally discovered the correlation, it was as if I saw a light at the end of a dreary tunnel. I knew how to beat my depression. I worked hard to accept the parts of me that I couldn’t change. I worked on the parts of me I could change, instead of wallowing in despair. I stopped having pity parties. I acted confident, in hopes that it would stick. I stopped placing my worth in my others’ hands. I took back control of my self worth.

And it worked. I buoyed myself up from the ocean of despondency, and the new view was breathtaking. During that time in my life I ended a dead end relationship, re-enrolled in college, mantained a 3.7 gpa, and eventually married my DH. We had our share of bumps along the road of marriage, but our first two years as husband and wife were so happy. It was wonderful. I had it all figured out.

Then, I got pregnant.

(to be continued)

9 Responses to “Gloomy Days”

  1. Hillary said

    If your pregnancy was anything like mine, then I know where this story is headed. I guess I’ll wait and see what you write, but if it includes suicidal thoughts and zoloft, then you’re in good (or equally depressed?) company. I hope you start feeling better. 🙂

  2. Summer said

    Michelle. Smile. 🙂

  3. mckenna said

    I’m sorry you’ve got the blues… and I’m sorry for calling them blues, because I fully understand that they are much more than blues.

    I hope things start looking more sunny for you soon. Try this for a smile:

    Every few months I have to go watch that video again because it makes me laugh every time.

  4. Nora Bee said

    “And then I got pregnant.” Yes, that does need to be continued. Sorry you’ve got the blues.

  5. loni said

    I tagged you, you two toned, crocodile headed, saggy bottomed puke pot.

  6. So a baby?? I am happy for you, and I pray that you feel well. You are such an awesome with person with so many amazing talents! GO MEISHA!!!

  7. Holly said

    Thanks for coming by. I’d love to play Scrabulous! If you click on the link on my sidebar it will take you to my profile. I’m hooked too!

  8. Cristy said

    Yay for a post! Honestly, you’ve been missed! No pressure to write though, if you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been writing myself, and sometimes that just feels a little naughty and a little good! This is my first night back, and I just decided to give you an award! For your writing. So enjoy, and I hope that you beat this depression thing. Welcome to February. I feel my own depression looming and am determined to stop eating chocolate (it never really helps) start exercising (maybe I’ll start next week…) and stop reading blogs that are downers. Keep smiling!

  9. elizabeth said

    Firstly, *hugs*. I read this when you posted..but I didn’t have anything motivating or great to say, so I didn’t say anything..but I’m thinking of you. Give us an update of how you are doing..and I need your email address pwease.

Leave a comment